February 10, 2013

  • Separate

     

    I always imagined that I would spend most of my afternoons after work alone at a swanky bar or big windowed kinda rustic cafe, alone with my thoughts for a little bit before returning to my own flat, with windows even bigger than the cafe, to put together a portfolio, write, or work on a code. I'd have thoughts churning throuhgout the day and feel life moving forward with great momentum, thinking of how to impact an entire earth's population of human beings. 

    Something along the lines of

     

    would play as background music.

    I see the man with the pipe, the woman with her dog, the couple in love's young temptation, and the old couple intertwined enough to enjoy the purity of love in silence and harmony over cups of coffee, blessed enough to have found such a partner. I see the waiters busy trying to make a living off of rich clientele with tips to leave, tired out eyes, attempting to smile for the customers. When the man with the pipe looks at his watch and slowly makes his way out of the cafe, I know it's time for me to retire as well and chase the sunset, glancing at my pocket watch just to make sure it's precisely the right time. I guess by then I'd be pretty good at reading the sun. 

    If I eventually gray, I'd rock the crap out of my silver hair and enjoy myself even more at these cafes. 

    During the winters I'd stare out in to the weather, contemplating. Some type of LA air I imagined for an outdoor cafe during the summers, sunshades on, flowy white skirt, silk top, and kitten heels of sorts. 

    But why cafes? Why not on top of a mountain, a hike, somewhere infused with nature?

    As a good friend put it, it's because I want to feel people while still being separated from their being, an infusion of human nature in my own separate bubble. I admit I'm rather recluse, for many reasons, and being in a public setting where I'm allowed to be by myself, to read, to sip a cup of coffee, to watch people, but also have the chance to talk to someone of my choice, is so inviting. 

    I also at times imagined the feeling of love, returning home to a lover, but for the time being it'll be my own place at least for the next few months. 

    There'd be bottles of champagne in the cabinet from our travels around the world, candles, and fruits laid out on the table under an windowed ceiling where stars would remind me of how small I am yet how great it is to have the opportunity to see the stars. 

    song I can't stop listening to, Elli Ingram's cover. 

    eleowen no such thing as time

     

    ^^^ I WANT TO DO A DUET OF THIS SO BADLY  AAKFS WAHAH!!!

     

    thousand years christina perri one of my favorites

     'I have died everyday waiting for you" seems to convey an incredibly sad emotion compared to the res tof the song, but  it's still such a true feeling.
    How the heart can seem to disable our entire being...

     

    Happy lunar new year to all those celebrating :) Eat up your nian gao! 

    Weekend nights in are and have been my favorites. Just need time to be around familiar people, now drinks, nor loud music, no guards put up or conscious efforts to avoid certain things to say out of fear it may be a faux pas. 

    Just a few conversations here and there, reconnecting with friends, being productive and 

    wel, taking care of family business. 

    i miss some people though. 

Comments (13)

  • .... I just got your picture message so I don't even remember what I was going to say lmao

  • perhaps it'd be the hip thing to do to open up a coffee bar in our older years rather than an irish pub. ^^

  • @lovelybish - HAHA I'm stil waiting for it to download...
    i think the reception in my house is stil just as bad. trying to download both pictures ><
    @infinitiNY - hahaha i hope so! I really prefer coffee/tea places
    and nice bars with not too many people haha

  • Boo :( try turning off your phone then turning it back on?

  • Magnificently written!

    It captures the atmosphere of the cafe so well and what's so charming about its soothing environment.

    That's what I love about cafes too- being alone if one chooses but still people watching and can strike up a conversation if one wants.

  • Cafe's have a certain charm to them. Especially nearly empty cafes. A lot of artists tend to gravotate to them. Maybe, somehow, the environment is condusive to creative thought. Plus if you want a great cup of coffee, or an espresso. you're right there.

    I really like your good friend's description. It's like you can get a sembeleance of human contact - all without sacrificing your indviduality and being left to yourself.

    Anyway, you are not alone for your love of cafes. I too share the same sentiment.

  • I like being alone. It is wonderful. silence with another is also great. My friends don't seem to get that. That is why someone who I used to be with was so special.

  • Nice post V. Love your choices in music. I'd never heard Ypey or Elonowen. I hope all is well with you and yours, and that the snow hasn't impacted you all too severely. Take care, C.

  • ive been listening kendricks version so much that cover was really nice listen. wow. mind fuckin blown. and really cool to have a song for that type of scenario. i can actually picture it. i feel like every song on my playlist has that effect on my everyday round-a-bouts.

  • obviously a beautiful old soul you have

  • =]
    We're all on this journey. To tie it back to a certain analogy I referred to, it's like we're all sailboats weathering storms, overcoming waves, struggling with our sails, and we all take little breaks and find solace in coffee shops--a place where we can all dock for a little while before heading back to sea.
    It's a glorified way to look at our lives, but I like to think that those who stop by at coffee shops acknowledge that everyone else there loves coffee/tea, and each one of us desperately (but we'd never admit it) want to be around others, especially those who are the most tired (i.e. mothers with wailing kids, old man that has sailed around the world, old lady who has weathered away her youth and talks about nothing but everything at the same time).

  • @DraculVanHelsing - yes! immersion among people but still apart wiht your own space
    @misuterihomme - "It's like you can get a sembeleance of human contact - all without sacrificing your indviduality and being left to yourself." love it
    @SlackerSociety - yes, when you can enjoy the silence and not feel awkward. it seems most people just can't calm down
    @hombre_de_la_mancha - I'm glad you like the music! And thank you, where I am there actually was no snow just rain :P
    @mrqtran - haha right?!! Such a good voice she has to
    @lglxl - actually i do think so too, that somehow even when we dont want to admit it, those who seem most stoic, need to just be set fre a little bit. coffee shops and bookstores are the best place for that, not loud at all but still surrounded my humans :)

  • @Victoriamisu -  Yes, I think that's why the cafe has been so popular in Europe for the past 2 centuries and has become an extremely popular institution in North America the past 20 years.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment