June 15, 2013

  • Snippity snippity snip

     

    For some reason, the only place I can write without filtering my mind is here. I think I've created a type of attachment to this environment. Whenever I see this white box, my mind unlocks itself.

     

    Behind this new haircut is a heartache burning. It's something I had toyed with and at times yearned for, knowing the change would be welcome, but I was too scared ot do it myself. So, after listening to me complain, debate, declare the hour I would cut my hair, my mom finally got fed up with me and took me to the haircuttery in Taiwan and I said, what the hell, I don't want to argue with her in public, so I sat my butt in the chair.

     

    It's as if as I was still deciding, he had already finished cutting.

     

    You know how that one item you have, that one haircut, that one whatever, makes you feel like a different person? I felt this way after. I envisioned new outfits, new styles that I was too scared to try out before, outfits that would be fit for neck baring.

     

     

    All this weight, all this... hiding, false comfort, that I held on to behind my hair, it's gone.

    It was rather sad, and as I looked at the hair on the floor, I wanted to glue it back to my head for a moment but I looked in the mirror and understood that there was nothing I could do about it, and change is good.

    I had dyed my hair jet black in November of 2012, my first time dying my hair. Obviously, coloring it at all ruins the texture of it. But since cutting it, I've let go of those destroyed roots.

     

    And in time, it'll grow back... in time.

     

     

    Obviously, my posts revolve around a lot more than what is literally presented. Hair, is just hair. Fear, confidence, deception, beauty, hope, trust, those are real.

     

    Going along with that, I wasn't sad at first that Xanga is coming to an end, but as I write this and as life propels forward with its turmoils and rainbows, and as I look back to the memories I've had with so many of you that I never thought I'd meet in this fashion, it makes my heart tear a little.

     

    For some reason, I have never felt more open writing anywhere else... this was my sanctuary when I was still using old screennames back in middle school/elementary school. But now, now I won't be able to write without feeling too exposed.

     

    It's funny that these events occur simultaneously. I've been forced out of comfort, emotionally, in many ways. But it's good, I have to set my sights somewhere... and let loose, dried ends go...and breathe.

     

    But like hair, I hope they grow back even more nurtured.
    Unlike hair, however, it is up to God... unless some idiot comes at me with scissors and just HAS to cut my hair.

     

    (PS: There's still amonth left so I might still write here once or twice, but I'll be moving here

    victoriamisu.blogspot.com

    I'm going to try to turn that into this blog, going to try to make it personal. )

     Pictures shot by justin chen 

Comments (19)

  • Hello, excuse me, have you seen Victori.......holy cow, that IS you!!! Such a different look sans the long locks...but still photogenic! =)

    I think the new cut also make you look taller...how tall are you again? =)

  • Perhaps it is time for you to be open in more places than just one. Sometimes life forces us out of our comfort zone.

  • V, I doubt you could look anything but stunning, no matter what you wear or how your hair is styled or cut. And this cut suits you quite well.
    Wait, did you say Taiwan? You got your haircut over there?
    But seriously, this post is just one example of why you're one of my very favorite people on here.
    And I'm honored to have made your acquaintance.
    Carlos

  • I LOVEEEE your hair! I felt the same way the first time I cut it super short. I instantly regretted it and also thought of my hair as a safety net. But with time I started to love my short hair :) Sometimes I miss it.

  • im diggin those faded jeans and the short hair :D

  • Like the photos - very nice look.

  • from hirsuit to haircut?

  • It looks cute! It's not terribly short. My friend chopped it ALL off, ie Buddhist style. And she still looks fierce!

    And I love these photos of you, the natural looks. :)

  • I think these are the best shots of you that you have shared with us.

  • Sooo prettyyyy! Totally different look, but just as beautiful for sure. :]

  • Hey there! The haircut is different, but cute still. You said that there is a month left. Is Xanga shutting down for real?

  • @SoullFire - haha thank you!! :) I am actually not that tall... almost skimming 5'8. So close!
    @TheTheologiansCafe - Yes! I'm trying to place myself in that situation, but can't seem to find anywhere to settle in. In time, though...in time
    @hombre_de_la_mancha - Yup! I went to taiwan for three weeks :) Thank you, that makes me elated to know. I usually write what's on my mind uncensored, and I'm so glad that people can read it and think to themselves, either wow, I like this wrting, or in some way connect to it.Thank you Carlos :)
    @Lives4Waffles -  <3<3<3 i miss YOU. can't wait for july 4th weekend
    @mrqtran - 
    thank you Q!! I think the short hair fits that outfit better haha...and most of my clothes
    @jdortiz - thank you ! :)
    @iones_island - hrmm?
    @Scrooge0 - Thank you ying! Also wahh!! I actually was so close to doing that...just becuase I felt like I needed some drastic change but this is enough for me right now :D
    @buddy71 - Thank you, I'm so glad you like these! This was the most casual, quickest snapsshot session I've ever had.
    @Rhia_Pyrithea - AW! Thank you so much!! I also feel freer :D
    @Titan35 - thank you!! Hmm I do believe it is, @roadlesstaken has been doing goodbye xanga radioshows, and lots of others have been quoted in news articles and such. =

  • You're the first that I hear this from since my return. But after visiting the Xanga pages of other Xanga friends, they mention of this also. Too bad! I guess I have to find a different site to blog. It seems like everyone are going to different places.

    What is it about blogspot that you like?

  • oh and why not tumblr?

  • @Victoriamisu - in other words, you have much less hair. forgive the alliteration. hirsuit = hairy. loses the wittiness when it has to be explained. -_-//

  • @Victoriamisu -  i recently chopped off all my curtains too. i think you should keep it just me though

  • i can't get over your hair! you're making me want to go get a haircut this weekend.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment